PC won't post with XMP enabled

Rinkzate

Hey there folks - I've been ignoring this problem for a few months but would now really love to get my ram working at the speed I paid for.

Motherboard: Asus Z790 Maximus Hero - Bios 2301 (newest)

CPU: Intel i9-13900k

RAM: G.Skill F5-6400J3239G32GX2-TZ5RK (DDR5 2x32gb 6400 mt/s CL32-39-39-102 1.40V)

GPU: EVGA FTW3 Ultra RTX 3090TI

Prior to putting this computer together I checked the QVL for the motherboard and that ram is indeed listed on the QVL, so I'm really not sure why I can't get the computer to post with XMP or XMP II

I have tried standard steps such as swapping the sticks, changing the slots, and that has not helped at all so I am currently running them in A2 and B2 as recommended by Asus.

Under default "AUTO" setting I can post just fine... At 4000mhz, but with any XMP setting enabled my computer just flashes codes quickly (training I guess?) until it arrives at q code 55, and then just stays there indefinitely.

Please let me know if any other details are needed and I appreciate any assistance here, this has been driving me nuts.

What's the highest manual frequency it will post at with XMP enabled?

You have two dual rank sticks there which will lower the headline speed somewhat compared to 2x16GB and I'm not sure what a 13900K is usually capable of.

1 minute ago, Tetras said:

What's the highest manual frequency it will post at with XMP enabled?

You have two dual rank sticks there which will lower the headline speed somewhat compared to 2x16GB and I'm not sure what a 13900K is usually capable of.

Generally speaking, I'm not familiar with RAM tuning at all and have no understanding of any of the the many manual settings in my bios, so I've avoided doing anything manual like the plague so I don't actually know what it will post at other than the auto setting.