Synology 1522+ Backup Strategy

Hi All,

Looking to get some backup strategies recommendations as well as some general tips regarding synology environment since I'm new to the field.

I want to use the NAS as a backup server to version control all of my software (webapp) that I develop, as well as keeping backups of clients websites.

Which means I will be having LOTS of small files per version/client and the copying/syncing process takes a lot of time on my current backup setup.

What kind of drives should I use HDDs or SSDs? What about nvme caching?

Which app should I use for backups?

Any information is welcome

How much data are we talking about?

Do you want something like a locally hosted Git repo? Or just a file server with shadow copies?

What kind of budget are you working with?

Are you also maintaining offline (and ideally, offsite) backups as well? (A NAS is not a backup, and RAID is absolutely not a backup.)

I sold my soul for ProSupport.

8 minutes ago, Needfuldoer said:

How much data are we talking about?

Do you want something like a locally hosted Git repo? Or just a file server with shadow copies?

What kind of budget are you working with?

Are you also maintaining offline (and ideally, offsite) backups as well? (A NAS is not a backup, and RAID is absolutely not a backup.)

My current backups do not exceed 1TB, but the files are 1.5million, 2TB will be enough for now.

Budget is not an issue, but I am not looking to overpay and go to extreme levels.

I have my working machine where I compile the files/folders and I back them up on another PC.

The NAS would come in as a second level in this case,

(Working Machine -> PC Backup -> NAS?)

or I could use it as first level backup and have a cloud storage box to backup all NAS files?

(Working Machine -> NAS -> Hetzner Cloud Storage Box)

For that amount of data, a RAID 10 of four 2TB SSDs should last you for years to come. That would give you 4 TB of usable, redundant space.