Moving back from Linux to Windows - Need Some Advice

HarleyTorrisi
Go to solution Solved by da na,

OOSU 10++ is THE tool to do what you're looking for with disabling telemetry and other BS within Windows. 

As for Edge, there are registry tweaks you can do, but setting your own user account as the owner of its install directory and forbidding system access to it has worked for me. 

Never had OneDrive come back after uninstalling it, but if you do, same thing - forbid access to the folder it wants.

Hey Everyone,

I have been using Linux for almost a year now. And have been surprisingly happy with my experience. Unless there is something you need that only Windows offers, there really is no need to go for Windows. However, I have several pieces of hardware related software that simply lack the feature set of windows versions. I am a dev, but don't even have the time to work on my own projects, let alone try and contribute to FOSS. So I want to move back, though need to put Windows through an STD Cleanamatron 2000 before even considering it.

TLDR;

Is there a software, paid or free, open or closed... That will monitor my system to; make sure all telemetry is disabled and keeps OneDrive uninstalled even after updates. Easily change default browser. Assist in clean software uninstall like (revo uninstaller). Registry, and whatever else you may think is important.

Basically a tool to fix everything that is wrong and nasty with Windows. I know there are PS tools like the Chris Titus one to help with some of this, but my goal is for just a single tool that I can set and forget.

None of this is an issue on Linux, so I am hoping for a simple enough solution.

I would simply recommend Windows 11 Pro for your application, then I would follow these guides to fine tune it to your liking: