Converting an old Windows XP laptop to Linux for use as a VPN with Tailscale

Hi I'm completely new to this and I want to download Tailscale on an old windows XP laptop that has 1gb of ram and a 32bit processor. Of course I have to install Linux so is there any suggestion as to which of the supporting Linux distro's should I use? 
Thank you in advance!

6 hours ago, CKoup said:

Hi I'm completely new to this and I want to download Tailscale on an old windows XP laptop that has 1gb of ram and a 32bit processor. Of course I have to install Linux so is there any suggestion as to which of the supporting Linux distro's should I use? 
Thank you in advance!

windowsXP is (very) unsafe for use as it has not received any security updates for over a decade.

Many Linux systems have discontinued 32 bit support.

1GB RAM is also problematic because you often don't use a mouse on a laptop and a window manager is therefore often less useful.

You can use FreeBSD with LXQt

https://www.freshports.org/security/tailscale/

If you don't mind screen tearing then Alpine Linux with XFCE is also ideal as Alpine uses very little RAM.

You can use MX Linux + fluxbox (or XFCE)

Devuan and XFCE/LXQt may also work well.

I have a very cheap and old netbook that cost less than 200 EUR and how Devuan runs on it is nothing short of phenomenal.

Those are technically the most optimal choices for slow hardware.

OS: FreeBSD 13.3  WM: bspwm  Hardware: Intel 12600KF -- Kingston dual-channel CL36 @6200 -- Sapphire RX 7600 -- BIOSTAR B760MZ-E PRO -- Antec P6 -- Xilence XP550 -- ARCTIC i35 -- 980 PRO 500GB

Can I ask why? I'm a tailscale user myself and the way it's supposed to work is that you download tailscale onto every device and then it creates a peer to peer mesh network.