Mechanical Keyboard Recommendations

lachjames

Hi 🙂 I've been using a Razer Blackwidow Elite for a few years, but some of the keys are starting to die and I wouldn't mind an upgrade anyway. So I bought a Steelseries Apex Pro, and it turns out I really don't like linear switches, and I'm finding my effective typing speed quite reduced as I either have to put up with more mistakes or reduce my speed (I can usually get to the 130s on a good day, not sure entirely what I'm at with this keyboard but it's certainly less). So I'm going to return that, but I need to figure out what to get instead...

I've looked a little into the custom keyboard route, but tbh I don't think I have the patience for it and I'd prefer to just "buy something that works".

These are my thoughts:

- I'd prefer a TKL design, as I don't use the numpad on my Blackwidow Elite and it just takes a lot of space. I usually sit with the keyboard on my lap, so I need something at least the size of TKL to be stable, but I think a full-size keyboard is overkill (and sometimes I like to use my mouse on my knee so a TKL will help give me room for that... I get a sore wrist when using my mouse sometimes, but I find that to be quite comfortable for some reason).

- I'd prefer wired(for a kinda weird reason... since I keep my keyboard balanced on my lap, if/when I drop it having a cable running to it means I don't have to get up and get it - the cable really doesn't bother me otherwise and it makes things cheaper). I'll get a wireless keyboard if that's the best option though, as long as I can use it in wired mode.

- I don't want to waste money, but I use my keyboard every day for work (programming), typing, and light gaming (not competitive but it needs to at least not suck) so I'm willing to spend a decent amount, more than the Apex Pro if it's worth it