Help with upgrading my Linux machine for VFIO

Go to solution Solved by Pesukarhu,

I have been using primarily linux for 2,5 years now, with virtualized windows 10 for gaming. My specs are:
3900X overclocked, 32GB DDR4 ram, ASUS PRIME X570-PRO mobo, custom loop water cooling for cpu,
1060 6gb for linux, 2060 super for windows, two usb 3.0 cards for windows, 10gbe nic for connecting to nas,
2TB nvme ssd (pcie 3.0), 1TB sata ssd, 750W seasonic PSU, custom case,
two 50" 4k TVs as monitors (i like big text, and do more work than gaming)

Things to note:

-I previously had a motherboard which only had 4 lanes to the second pcie x16 slot. This was noticeably limiting the performance of the 2060 super, since it only supports pcie 3.0. Current mobo is "SLI compatible" and runs the two pcie x16 slots in x8 + x8 which solves the problem.
So you will probably need a X670 motherboard, or a secondary gpu that supports pcie 4. (3.0 at x8 = 4.0 at x4)

-Rather annoyingly the card in the top slot is always the primary gpu, and while you can configure xorg to use the second card for linux the primary GPU wouldnt display anything when attached to a VM. It was detected, but windows could not use it. There may be ways to fix/workaround, i could not find them.

-The top GPU will likely be starved for air unless the bottom GPU is mounted vertically with a riser. I modified a rather large old case to support vertical mounting a second GPU while providing sufficient airflow to it. There is around 30mm between the side panel and the GPU, which seems to be enough. Airflow in the case is going bottom-to-top, with the cpu radiator outside on the top of the case.

-Highly recommend a dedicated usb controller for windows, the VR-compatible pcie-cards are less than 30€. I have two because the first one did not work well with my valve index and i had space for two cards. I got them from amazon.de