NAS from old hardware

Vandey

So I have an old system i7-3770K with 16GB ram and an older video card. I want to setup a PLEX server, as my old QNAP NAS is terrible at being that. Was just curious what kind of RAID and NAS software I should use. I'd like the ability to have a way to sync my PC's folders to the NAS, currently I use QSYNC for that. Also would like the ability to send my phone's photos to it as well each night while it's charging. Is there a good piece of software that works for that? I'm a linux noob, so not sure Linux will be right for me unless someone has some good directions on how to get everything setup. I may have to buy a used cheap video card to help with any transcoding as well. What's a good card that can do that (I have an old GTX 670 and a GT730 and maybe a GT1030)? Currently I do not have any 4K media, but it would be nice to at least get something to transcode maybe 1 or 2 4K streams once I get up to needing that. Otherwise most media will just be directly streamed.

A 3770K is plenty for a NAS. As long as it doesn't have to transcode video (which you'd want a Plex Pass subscription for so you can use Intel Quick Sync), it just has to shove files over the network. 

Unraid is easy to set up, TrueNAS Scale is almost as easy but doesn't cost anything.

You'll want a boot SSD that's separate from your data pool. Even better, add a second SSD in its own pool and use it for the Plex database. It will make browsing your libraries on your clients a lot snappier.

I sold my soul for ProSupport.