Overheating

dixib

Hi,

My computer has started crashing and most of the times I get a CPU temperature warning when it posts. In BIOS the temperature is 60-70 °C and in HWinfo64 I sometimes get 60-80 °C at the desktop with no activity. However, most af the time it's about 40 °C. When I start a game or some other load the temperature instantly rises to +70 °C, and the computer crashes after a few seconds.

I've bought the computer used, and have had it for at least 6 months without any such issues.

The CPU is a 5950X with an Enermax 360 mm AiO. My first thought was the pump not working, but both the BIOS and HWinfo show the pump running at about 3500 RPM, and I hear no sound of concern from it. The radiator is only warm at the inlet, but the rest is room temperature, which seems odd to me, but I have no experience with water cooling, so don't know how the temperature distribution is in the radiator. It's mounted in a O11D, which currently have the side and top panels removed.

Is my best bet to get a new cooling solution? Or does anybody here have an idea what might be the problem.

10 minutes ago, glenalz81 said:

A good few of the Enermax coolers are prone to clogging badly.

New cooler and you should be fine.

That was also a thought I had based on the temperature in the radiator. I will order a new cooler and hope that will solve the problem.

Just now, dixib said:

That was also a thought I had based on the temperature in the radiator. I will order a new cooler and hope that will solve the problem.

Definitely sounds like a cooler issue.  A new cooler should do the trick 🙂  If the tubes coming out of the pump itself are not heating up then the water is not flowing correctly, most likely a clogg from the coolant.  MSI has had a lot of issues with their R series AIO's so don't get one of those.

29 minutes ago, Hinjima said: