Recommendations for Apartment Home Theater System

OzoneSea

I've been looking into getting a home theater system for a while now but I'm very new to the space. I have an apartment so I can't go all out and I plan on living here for several years until I can afford to buy my own place. However, either there's decent sound insulation between me and my neighbors or I just don't listen to movies and TV shows loud enough to cause issues with them so volume shouldn't be an issue. For reference, I currently have an LG CX 55" TV. The speakers are meh at best and lack the low end I would like. I was thinking of just doing a 2.1 setup to begin with and upgrade slowly from there. From here I don't know where to begin. Bookshelf speakers would be preferable for left and right as my TV is surrounded by two bookshelves. I also need an AV receiver but it also needs to be relatively short (<= 6") as that's all I have space for in my entertainment center. For speakers, I've been looking at the Polk Signature Elites but I'm open to any recommendations. I've heard Denon is a good brand for AV receivers as well but, again, I'm open to recommendations.

15 minutes ago, OzoneSea said: