Have a few questions for upgrading OS Drive

SuperVegitoFAN

I want to upgrade my OS drive, but i have a few questions to prepare.

Mainly because the drive i intend to upgrade to is an m.2 nvme ssd. Im upgrading from a, id say 7 year old 120gb kingston SSD.

But i have zero experience with m.2, and i just want to make sure im understanding everything correctly. That and ive never upgraded a system drive before, either, this is my first desktop, and said drive is the only thing thats not yet been upgraded.

Motherboard is an Asus TUF Gaming X570 plus, with wi-fi.

So 

1: This motherboard has 2, m.2 slots. One above the GPU slot, but that doesnt have a cover (which google tells me is a heatsink), and one right above the PSU, which does have a cover. Which one should i use? According to the manual both of them says "socket supports PCIe 4.0 x4 mode and SATA mode M Key design and type 2242/2260/2280/22110 storage devices"  The top one appears to only support that with a 3rd gen ryzen (which i do have, a 3700x to be specific). Does it matter which one i use? Should i play it safe and just use the lower one, which has a cover, and isnt sandwiched between the gpu and cpu? Lower one would also be easier to install, not sure i can install the top one without removing atleast the gpu. According to the manual, installing the m.2 drive involves removing the cover, and place it on top of the drive once done, which doesnt make me any less confused

2: Are these the standoffs you need to use for the drive? There are 2 standoffs and 2 screws, which fit with the fact there are 2 m.2 slots on this board.

20220824_170303.thumb.jpg.95b163b5bda8fa3230f4bb4a905faec6.jpg

3: Are there any m.2 drives i should absolutely not get? anything i need to watch out for (i know i have to pay attention to the 22XX numbers, and the M key thing but anything else?), would this drive work for example?