SLI not utilizing "Shared GPU Memory" (System RAM)

bungert
Go to solution Solved by Tristerin,

Im not an expert but...

Discrete GPU's dont actually use your dedicated system memory.

Edit - to clarify its a Windows thing to display that, as far as I am aware, but only because iGPU's will use your actual System Memory as RAM.

Good evening everybody, hope you're all doing well in the run up to Christmas. 🙂

I dedcided to treat myself and get another ASUS GeForce GTX 970 Strix (matching pair) to run in my system this holiday, to keep up to speed with performance - specificially during this chip shortage too, I thought it'd be better than paying scapler prices for a new card. As a sidenote; it was used though in very good condition and I got it at a decent price too.

After doing some research, and considering the 'woes' of SLI, I concluded that getting another card would be a relatively inexpensive way of providing me with some more time with this system, before I would be required to buy a whole new platform. (Quite expensive... and not really a possability in 2021!)

System Specifications

I've been running the existing (single) 970 Strix at 2160p (4K) 60hz (Gsync enabled) [Acer XB281HK] for just over two years. For those who are unaware, these cards have a 3.5GB + 500MB VRAM configuration. I see some people who claim that a frame buffer this small could never push a 4K display, however (from my experience) the single card + "Shared GPU Memory" has pulled it's weight in alot of demanding titles like Grand Theft Auto V, Rust & Rainbow Six: Siege. (-at good settings too!)

For my system memory, I have a 4x8GB kit of Kingston HyperX (DDR3) [Z97 Platform (Asus Maximus VII)]) clocked at 2176Mhz. (Strange "AI Tweaker" configuration?)
My CPU is an Intel Core i5 4690K clocked at 4.48GHz (4 Cores/4 Threads).

Whats my problem then?