IDE vs AHCI vs RAID

Axis

Hey everyone  ;)  i've been using RAID mode for 2 years without a problem, but i always wondered if i could or should use AHCI.

Why i use RAID ? well i have an SSD Intel330 120gb only for the OS , and then i have 2x HDD 500gb seagates in RAID0 for all my other stuff and so far no problem, but i was wondering what config in BIOS should i use with my hardware.

The thing is, my motherboard only lets me choose one of the 3 options, IDE, AHCI and RAID...

So my question is, what mode should i use and if i choose to run in AHCI will i still be able to RAID the 2 HDDs ?

(i haven't tryed changing it to AHCI yet because i'm afraid to loose the array and all my stuff in it) :unsure:

-Corsair Carbide 500r + TX-750w V2 | Asus P5Q Deluxe + Intel Core2Duo E8400 @ 3.8Ghz + 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2 1066mhz

-Sapphire HD4890 1GB DDR5 (New Edition) + 1x Intel SSD 330 120GB + 2x Seagate Barracuda 500GB SlimSinglePlate (RAID0)

not sure on this:

IDE is the old standard, you should pick this for older Operating Systems like XP.
AHCI is the newer standard.

and RAID is a mode of AHCI where it does it's RAID things..

again, not sure....

if you set you SATA controller from RAID to SATA or IDE you will lose your disk array and probably your data...

Grammar nazis are people too!
Treat your local grammar nazi nicely and he might teach you a thing or two. (Note that I'm Belgian and not a native English speaker.)
Chivalry isn't dead!

How did you set up your array? Did you do it in BIOS RAID config, or did you set it up in windows disk manager?

Usually if you're not using RAID on your boot drive you can set the BIOS to AHCI (especially for SSD's) and then set up a RAID array for secondary disks within windows disk manager.

If you set the array up before getting to windows (I think it's ctrl + i when set to RAID mode) I wouldn't recommend changing it back to AHCI mode