Mining rig as Rendering farm?!

Mining rig, as rendering Farm

I am an artist, and I've done a little bit of research. And something has me extremely curious.

A mining rig, repurposing the slots, and instead of using graphics card for computation on a mining rig, why not use them for what they are intended?

I have not quite figured out all the logistics to the point where I would be willing to purchase a mining rig in order to attempt this myself, however I am intrigued in this concept.

I also used to be a cyber security consultant, so I know there are limitations caused by Hardware, however I have not seen any reason other than the firmware that would be the issue and stand in the way.

Don't get me wrong, I do a lot of my rendering on my MacBook itself, I also have a few Graphics processing servers just to take a little bit of the workload off if need be, so it's kind of just a "Hacker's Mentality" of "Can I Do This?"

Basically a is it possible not is it necessary question!

However if it was possible it would actually be cheaper to run a mining rig then it would be to run any of my 72u(I also have an ESXi/MaaS for storage and home lab) rack for rendering...

Why not turn a mining rig into a makeshift rendering farm so that way you don't have to rent space at rendering Farm, or fire up part of a rack?

I know it's random, but I still don't see a hardware reason why it won't work, so far I'm only running into firmware issue as far as my research goes, I don't know if anyone has practical working experience though and I figured I would ask?

render me an GPU man, jk.

Not quite sure what you are asking for, is it something like selling computer power or rather it's performance for rendering tasks by others?

Like instead of folding at home, you do rendering with the rig? Or was there something else that you wanted?

13 minutes ago, lynnrpope said: