QBX: At The Limit

Hello guys...

TL;DR: I shove a triple-slot GPU and 240mm AIO into a small case.

image0.jpg

I started this sff build around october of last year when there wasn't any other reasonably priced sff cases available on amazon.
I recently installed another M.2 drive into the system and decided I should take some photos and share my sketchy journey.
This is my first time writing a build post so forgive me for the weird formatting and potentially triggering way I built my rig.

Part list:
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Cooler: EVGA CLC 240mm
Mobo: Asus Rog Strix B450-I Gaming
RAM: 2 x 16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 3200, OC'd to 3600
GPU: Zotac GTX 980ti Amp Extreme
PSU: Corsair SF750 Platinum
SSD: 2 x 1TB Sabrent Rocket NVMe M.2 SSD
Fans: 2 x Noctua NF-F12 iPPC 2000 PWM, 1 x Noctua NF-A8 PWM

Hurdle 1: Installing the GPU
F92E7281-9385-422B-BEF6-28F4C580772A.jpg

According to the Cougar website, the QBX will comfortably fit GPUs up to 350mm in length.
My 980ti is only 328mm long. Should be fine right?
Nope.

This case was designed with dual slot cards in mind and there isn't much information about how tall the gpu can be.
I know I was being optimistic thinking that I could fit my card in there, but I didn't know how stupid the solution was going to be.

Here's what I did:
1. Attach GPU to motherboard
2. Carefully move GPU+Mobo into case
3. Attach top left screw to mobo
4. Attach top right screw to mobo

5. Attach bottom right screw into mobo with great difficulty

6. Secure GPU screws

Now you may think something is missing here and you're right.
The bottom left side of my motherboard has nothing holding it in.

Also, remember when I wrote I recently installed a second M.2 drive?
For this motherboard, the second M.2 slot is on the back of the board.

Removing this GPU involves removing everything keeping it and the motherboard in place.

Hurdle 2: Installing the AIO cooler

A67694EF-BD06-4D63-A863-8B713539CF98.jpg