Run Programs from a home server

Hello all!
I'm a little new to the server scene and I have a question.  I work for a small family owned company that designs, sells, and fabricates kitchens, bathrooms, closets, and anything interior home improvement related.  

Me and a few others share one desktop computer where we have a design software where we make the renders for the clients.  We want to implement the ability of modifying the renders on two laptops we recently purchased so that we can modify it at the client's home.  

My question is, will purchasing a small 2TB 'server' like the WD My Cloud, installing the design software, and saving all the main computer files on there be a solution to this?

My objective is to be able to access, modify, and create the render files using said program on all the desktop/laptops.  What I had in mind was installing the program on the server and running it like if it were an external storage device that way everyone can access the newest files without having to sync.  

Thanks for reading!  If you have any questions, feel free to ask!

You want to put the software on the server as well as the project files?

What are these for?

Just now, epikgamerwmp said:

You want to put the software on the server as well as the project files?

Yes.  Also client files, if possible.

The client files, you can defiantly put them on the server. Why not just install the software on the machines themself?

What are these for?

1 minute ago, epikgamerwmp said:

The client files, you can defiantly put them on the server. Why not just install the software on the machines themself?

Couple different reasons.  
1.  The program doesn't allow reading external files.  I can't import files.  Only export.

2.  The company owners don't want to spend more on the program.  It would cost them around  $3,000 per year for adding two devices.  They feel the company is not big enough to justify spending that much.