Ram clock speed matter for game servers?

Using spare parts, I built a home server to host a couple game servers. Specifically Space Engineers and Minecraft. Right now it is using 10GB (2x4gb 1x2gb) of DDR3 ram running at 1333Mhz and an older i3 dual core running at 3.7Ghz. I am transferring the pc over to a rack mounted case and was instead wanting to replace the motherboard/cpu with an even older LGA 1155 motherboard with a quad core i7 2600 running at 3.8Ghz.

I believe the quad core is obviously a better choice, but in regards to RAM, I've been thinking of purchasing two 8GB sticks running at 1600Mhz, and replacing the 10GB with it. Does the RAM clockspeed really matter or should I save the money and just get 16GB 1333Mhz?

I am more than happy to hear any suggestions at all about the build! I'm a bit new to the "server scene"

Yeah. The higher clock speed the better. Would you be playing many of these games at once?

I'm gonna go find my own tech support...

with BLACKJACK and HOOKERS!

(Welcome to LTT Forums)

3 minutes ago, LukeTheCoder05 said:

Yeah. The higher clock speed the better. Would you be playing many of these games at once?

We'll have multiple people on each server. I think I've noticed lag spikes when one server is rendering while others are on another server. Not 100% confident that is the correlation, but best explanation I've seen. Even then it's very minor.

Just now, Spaceman_Wil said:

We'll have multiple people on each server. I think I've noticed lag spikes when one server is rendering while others are on another server. Not 100% confident that is the correlation, but best explanation I've seen. Even then it's very minor.

Also i've found minecraft win 10 edition is much better than java MC

(Welcome to LTT Forums)

1 minute ago, Spaceman_Wil said:

Well if it lags then its a CPU core bottleneck. Minecraft servers benefit cores because it needs to render different chunks at once, where more cores thrives.

(Welcome to LTT Forums)