SSD brand preference

Sarturos
Go to solution Solved by LogicWeasel,
17 minutes ago, Sarturos said:

I have been building PCs for several years now but I seem to be cursed when it comes to storage.

I would like to try a different brand of drives available but I'm unsure which one to pick. Samsung is the preferred brand for almost everyone so I'm not sure what other brand is good to test. Does anyone have any preferred brand they would like to recommend for SSD drives?

13 minutes ago, Enderman said:

Intel would be the one I would recommend alongside samsung.

Those SSDs should be lasting decades

I agree with Enderman.  If reliability is your primary concern then if you don't want to buy a Samsung 860 EVO (very reliable product) than you're going to want a 3D-Nand Intel SSD. 

Intel has been the gold-standard in long-term reliability in SSDs for some time now and before Samsung was cranking out winners Intel drove that market forward with R&D when SSDs were cutting-edge.

(I wouldn't go for a QLC drive like the 660p just yet, QLC on paper should be far less reliable in the long-haul if you keep writing data to it).

I have been building PCs for several years now but I seem to be cursed when it comes to storage. Back in the days of mechanical drives, I would alternate between WD and Seagate but for one reason or another, the drives would eventually fail after 1 year or 2 of use.

These days, I swear everyone and their mother tell me how good the Samsung Evo SSDs are and that there's really nothing out there that can compare. Well, as my luck would have it, I bought 2 Samsung SSDs and both have failed within 1 year. Even the replacement drives from warranty have failed. Before anyone jumps in and tell me that my computer is probably frying my drives, the components have been upgraded and replaced over the years, including power supplies. Everything else works perfectly fine, only drives seem to die very quickly.