Laptop Suggestions

I'm in need of a new laptop. Can you guys help me?

I am a US college student studying Computer Engineering (senior) at my local university. I have a decent rig at home, so I'm not looking for anything amazing. I need something relatively light weight, preferably with a decent feeling keyboard. I will be doing some light programming and a lot of word processing on it. I/O wise, my only real requirement is that it have an HDMI port to project presentations. I have pretty large hands, so I would prefer it not be a netbook. I have about $400 (USD) to spend.

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Aspire-i3-8130U-Memory-E5-576-392H/dp/B079TGL2BZ/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1547518839&sr=8-2&keywords=Aspire+E15

This is probably your best bet considering your limited budget. I would consider taking out the hard drive and replacing it with an SSD.

Could also look at used thinkpads

Community Standards || Tech News Posting Guidelines

---======================================================================---

CPU: R5 3600 || GPU: RTX 3070|| Memory: 32GB @ 3200 || Cooler: Scythe Big Shuriken || PSU: 650W EVGA GM || Case: NR200P

3 minutes ago, somgoozy said:

I/O wise, my only real requirement is that it have an HDMI port to project presentations

On the off chance there's a good ultrabook with a micro HDMI port, would you be willing to get a cable for it? I did when i bought my 2 in 1

I WILL find your ITX build thread, and I WILL recommend the SIlverstone Sugo SG13B

Primary PC:

i7 8086k - EVGA Z370 Classified K - G.Skill Trident Z RGB - WD SN750 - Jedi Order Titan Xp - Hyper 212 Black (with RGB Riing flair) - EVGA G3 650W - dual booting Windows 10 and Linux - Black and green theme, Razer brainwashed me.

Draws 400 watts under max load, for reference.

How many watts do I needATX 3.0 & PCIe 5.0 spec, PSU misconceptions, protections explainedgroup reg is bad