Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Random Semi\hard Lock Up

perplex

Problem - pc will freeze and sound shutters. i can move mouse, open task manager, i cant close programs even in task manager (end task), if i try open programs like hw monitor it opens but only white, so doesnt fully load, task manager i can swap between tabs but all the stats are frozen, i have to press the reset button to fix it

i get no error codes, nothing

i first started experiencing this when i played COD 4 blackops zombies, ive had this pc for many years and never noticed any issues until this game, but just before i was watching twitch and youtube on firefox and it happend, so its not just with games.

i updated the BIOS (Beta for spectre, Asus wont take out of BETA) back in May 2018 and also installed a m.2 in a PCI slot/formatted pc. and didnt have any issues untill the start of November 2018 when i started playing COD, so i put it down to the game, but since it happened when i was hardly doing anything, i feel it could be something else.

the past years i had no troubles, its only happened since the BIOS or the M.2, my guess is its the M.2 since everything 95% locks up, i may put my SSD's back in and run off that while gaming to see if it fixes, but it doesnt happen everytime so it will be hard to test

Specs -

Asus z97 pro

i7 4790k (not overclocked)

Crucial ballistix tactical tracer 4gb x 4

Asus Strix GTX970

Corsair HX750i

m.2 970 pro 512GB

Asus Xonor STX essence sound card

Windows 10 64bit

BIOS 3503 Beta for the specter fix (Asus will never bring it out of beta since its a older system)

hope thats all the information you need

see if anyone can help

Thanks

well guess no one really knows.

well i clones my m.2 to my old ssd's in raid 0, so when i game ill swap over to them to see if there is any difference. assuming if i have no issues then its the m.2 for some reason

17 hours ago, Falkentyne said: