ModelSim Altera Starter Edition - Linux mint 18.1

Untitled.png

System info above.

I have the following problem. I am studying digital circuits atm at university and we are using this piece of  software to simulate Verilog designs and see waveforms

. We're also using Quartus II to program a Cyclone II C20F484C7(or sth like that) FPGA. That works fine on linux, but because I have no board at home, it's quite useless for me.

Problem is, I can't get ModelSim to work separately, and for the love of God I cannot make it work. I've tried installing 32bit libraries as it is required to run ModelSim. I checked at school, with paths and whatnot, launchers.I created a launcher with vsim running in terminal, but all it does is briefly flashing a terminal window and then nothing. I have asked my teacher but apparently she is not that accustomed to working on Linux(although the computers we use at school do run Mint 17.3), nor did she point me to someone that does.

I have searched for guides, nothing seems to work, so I resort to you guys. Any idea is welcome.

P.S. I know I could run it on windows, quite easily, but I have separated my tasks, now finding myself using Linux for a greater part of my time. I have Windows 10 running on a separate SSD, but I feel kinda lazy to switch between OSs for just one program. All other school programs I use are  working in linux, so I decided to make it work environment, while keeping windows only for gaming.

MARS_PROJECT V2 --- RYZEN RIG

Spoiler

CPU: R5 1600 @3.7GHz 1.27V | Cooler: Corsair H80i Stock Fans@900RPM | Motherboard: Gigabyte AB350 Gaming 3 | RAM: 8GB DDR4 2933MHz(Vengeance LPX) | GPU: MSI Radeon R9 380 Gaming 4G | Sound Card: Creative SB Z | HDD: 500GB WD Green + 1TB WD Blue | SSD: Samsung 860EVO 250GB  + AMD R3 120GB | PSU: Super Flower Leadex Gold 750W 80+Gold(fully modular) | Case: NZXT  H440 2015   | Display: Dell P2314H | Keyboard: Redragon Yama | Mouse: Logitech G Pro | Headphones: Sennheiser HD-569