Upgrade from 3770k to 6900k?

Hey guys,

So I have been waiting to upgrade my i7 3770k (@4.5GHz) for a while. But I have yet to see any decent options thus far. The 6700k doesn't seem to offer that much of a performance increase to be worth upgrading (not really talking about price-to-performance of the upgrade but just as a upgrade in general). 

I use programs like Unity3D editor, Unreal 4, Maya (on occassion), and I write different programs and such as I am a Game Developer. I am also a twitch streamer and the 3770k doesn't seem to cut it on more intense games where there is a lot going on in the game I am playing. I use X264 encoding as it produces the best quality, but it is also the most demanding of the CPU. I figured that 4 more cores were certainly do the trick for a better quality stream and would also help in the other programs or at least in multitasking with demanding tasks.

I also play a lot of games (I realize in gaming alone the performance will probably be about the same, that being said I feel sometimes I am CPU limited having two 980ti's in sli).

I also just read that Skylake-x should be coming out around may (ish?) would it be better to wait for that?

Do you guys think I would see a big improvement in the programs/purposes I listed?

Thanks guys!

1 minute ago, dklims said:

Hey guys,

So I have been waiting to upgrade my i7 3770k (@4.5GHz) for a while. But I have yet to see any decent options thus far. The 6700k doesn't seem to offer that much of a performance increase to be worth upgrading (not really talking about price-to-performance of the upgrade but just as a upgrade in general).