Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Workstation + Gaming Build

Hi guys,

I am a student reading Design at university, and I new a pretty powerful setup for my student and personal projects. 

Here is what I do with the system:

- Gaming (CS:GO, Battlefield V, Cities Skylines mostly)

- Work (Vray for Sketchup, Premiere Pro, Adobe CC)

My budget is about 2000€ ± 10%

What should I get?

- Intel i7 8700K (new/used), i7 9700K (new), or even AMD Ryzen

- GTX 1080Ti (used), RTX 2080 (new)

I don't really have a clue about AMD Ryzen, and hesitate a bit since Gaming performance seems to be worse. On the otherhand, 8C 16T sounds sweet for rendering. Equally, I struggle with my decision to buy either a GTX 1080Ti for about 600€ (used, with 1 yr warranty left), or a new RTX 2080 (MSI Gaming Trio). What would you guys recommend for my gaming/rendering needs?  

Just now, bebejapes said:

ryzen with 1080ti for a more budget oriented build

But is Ryzen up to the task for rendering? Is it as good as Intel for Premiere Pro? 

Just now, DerGoliHerr said:

But is Ryzen up to the task for rendering? Is it as good as Intel for Premiere Pro? 

premiere pro favours intel but ryzen does still do good for its cost. and if you have budget constraints or just looking for something more reasonable. ryzen is the way to go.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: AMD - Threadripper 1920X 3.5 GHz 12-Core Processor  (€349.00 @ Amazon Deutschland) 
CPU Cooler: Corsair - H100i v2 70.69 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler  (€129.90 @ Amazon Deutschland) 
Motherboard: ASRock - X399 Taichi ATX TR4 Motherboard  (€330.99 @ Amazon Deutschland) 
Memory: Corsair - Vengeance LPX 8 GB (1 x 8 GB) DDR4-3000 Memory  (€73.33 @ Amazon Deutschland) 
Memory: Corsair - Vengeance LPX 8 GB (1 x 8 GB) DDR4-3000 Memory  (€73.33 @ Amazon Deutschland) 
Storage: Samsung - 970 Evo 500 GB M.2-2280 Solid State Drive  (€121.88 @ Amazon Deutschland)