Google Maps Slave

Back in 2004 I was a call center agent. People would call with questions and issues and you would assist them for a monthly salary. In 2008 I worked in administration for an institution and people would also contact us with questions and I would provide relevant information... for a salary. Maybe I'm old fashioned but, excited as I was to submit pictures and reviews for local businesses in Google Maps, I quickly realized Google Maps was trying to enslave me.

It started happening recently after I bought a new Android phone -I rather not disclose the phone I replaced- and began receiving alerts telling me I was in a coffee shop and asking for pictures and reviews. I was delighted to provide them. Your pictures are popular! an email would inform. Would you like to contribute some more? After a week, I actually didn't want to contribute anymore but Google insisted. "You are near a business" -I was one block away- "help the world see it with a picture!" Nah, thank you. "You are near a business"...

After a few days I started getting questions. "Somebody has asked a question about the coffee shop. Do you want to help them?" So now I'm supposed to be a mobile, always ready call center agent again FOR FREE!?

Am I the only one that thinks that answering questions about a business is and should forever remain a paid job? Or should I just give in and accept I am Google Maps Support, my name is Jerónimo, how can I help you today?

I guess the logic is that you're helping ("working for") other people, not Google, and the assumption is that they might do the same and if everyone did that everyone would be infinite knowledge and happiness :P But I see what you mean, the info and help you provide is on their platform so it is still benefiting Google.

Solve your own audio issues  |  First Steps with RPi 3  |  Humidity & Condensation  |  Sleep & Hibernation  |  Overclocking RAM  |  Making Backups  |  Displays  |  4K / 8K / 16K / etc.  |  Do I need 80+ Platinum?