New here, lets chat!

Siq

Heya there, 

Looking to get more emerged with people who share a common interest in all this. I'm planning to upgrade soon, so I'm curious to what everyone does with their old parts after an upgrade! Do you guys just keep them, put them into smaller systems, sell them? So on so on. 

Thank you!

It'll be cool to chat

| i'm bad at games, but play them anyways |

Just now, Tibbles said:

I keep mine, unless they're broken.

Fair enough. I'm thinking of just putting them into a mini-atx case and using it as a media PC for the time being. Being a uni student, I don't really have the storage for heads of parts and boxes though. 

i tend to give my old parts to a friend so he gets an upgrade too. then i take his even older parts and build new systems for other people

How do Reavers clean their spears?

|Specs in profile|

The Wheel of Time turns, and Ages come and pass, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth comes again.

6 minutes ago, Tsuki said:

i tend to give my old parts to a friend so he gets an upgrade too. then i take his even older parts and build new systems for other people

I like that, +1 for being a top friend aha. I see a lot of people here just sell up and move on, my soon to be old parts aren't all that high end, and the low amount I'd get for it wouldn't really help all that much.

I tend to keep them. I still have my old i3 I dropped and bent a corner. It still works though, I just need another LGA 1155 system. My initial plan was to slowly upgrade my whole system and eventually end up with 2 systems, my first system with the exact parts list, literally every original part, and then have my main system. Instead what I'm doing is upgrading my system bit by bit and having the original case, and thats about it. I'll then find another case, gut it, and put all my old parts in it. Then build a system out of the other hardware.