Building an executable program?

Go to solution Solved by Adonis4000,

I found my answer. Anyone who is having the same problem just read this website.

It says how to compile and build an executable file using the terminal. It's pretty easy.

https://courses.cs.washington.edu/courses/cse326/02wi/unix/g++.html

So, I'm new to programming and I thought I'd start learning C++ in Ubuntu.

I'm using the book "Programming Principles and Practice using C++ Second Edition" to get started.

I want to use the Visual Studio Code to create my source files, compile them and build an executable program.

I managed to create the source file with my code and now I want to compile it and build the executable program to see if it actually works.

But how do I do that?!?! Any help will be highly appreciated :)

ps. The book isn't helping on this one since it talks about a previous version of Visual Studio Code.

I believe the book describes Visual Studio, you're talking about Visual Studio Code.

Visual Studio Code is just an advanced text editor while Visual Studio is a IDE.

If you want to follow the book you'll have to run Windows and use Visual Studio (Community edition)

Desktop: Intel i9-10850K (R9 3900X died 😢 )| MSI Z490 Tomahawk | RTX 2080 (borrowed from work) - MSI GTX 1080 | 64GB 3600MHz CL16 memory | Corsair H100i (NF-F12 fans) | Samsung 970 EVO 512GB | Intel 665p 2TB | Samsung 830 256GB| 3TB HDD | Corsair 450D | Corsair RM550x | MG279Q

Laptop: Surface Pro 7 (i5, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD)

Console: PlayStation 4 Pro

3 minutes ago, mathijs727 said:

I believe the book describes Visual Studio, you're talking about Visual Studio Code.

Visual Studio Code is just an advanced text editor while Visual Studio is a IDE.

If you want to follow the book you'll have to run Windows and use Visual Studio (Community edition)

I think you are right on this one about Visual Studio IDE and Visual Studio Code.