First time overclock i5-4690k

Hello, I am new to this forum and I am also new to overclocking.

After a lot of research I decided to finally overclock my CPU which is an i5-4690k (motherboard is MSI Z97 Gaming 5).

I wanted to keep it safe and thus I went for 4.2Ghz and 1.128 voltage:

BIOS looks like this:

http://prnt.sc/d3qbf7
http://prnt.sc/d3qbhf

My idle temperatures are around 30-33C and with Prime95 under load ~60-65

I went straight to 1.128 voltage, no inbetween. Am I safe, I ran Prime95 for about 1.5 hours without errors or conflicts.

Your voltage is well within check.

Which cooler are you using?

If the cooler is decent, you can go up to 1.35v no problem.

But if you really want to ensure that you overclock is stable, you need to do much more than just running prime.

I tested mine with 24 hours AIDA, playing my favourite games for a couple of hours and rendering some videos.

Please quote me in any answers to my posts, so that I can read them easily and don´t forget about them. Thanks!

I love spending my time with PC tinkering, networking and server-stuff.

32 minutes ago, MEOOOOOOOOOOOOW said:

Your voltage is well within check.

Which cooler are you using?

If the cooler is decent, you can go up to 1.35v no problem.

But if you really want to ensure that you overclock is stable, you need to do much more than just running prime.

I tested mine with 24 hours AIDA, playing my favourite games for a couple of hours and rendering some videos.

I'm using Cooler master hyper 212 evo, Yes I'm planning on stress testing in the night, everythings running fine atm but I set it to fixed mode so it will run at constant 4.2,

how is this possible with fixed mode?: http://prntscr.com/d3qybw

2 minutes ago, aquilaray said:

I'm using Cooler master hyper 212 evo, Yes I'm planning on stress testing in the night, everythings running fine atm but I set it to fixed mode so it will run at constant 4.2,

It is normal for it to fluxuate a litte bit.