I'm a software dev, that recently landed a new job.

I work in an office that have others in close proximity to my workstation, and I got the green light to select my own equipment, whatever that might be.

This is pretty hard, due to all the requirements that I have. 

I want to keep the noise to a minimum due to coworkers being nearby, but still not get frustrated over the hardware I'm using.

I've used Mechanical Keyboards for the last 6+ Years, black and blue switches mostly. And I want to continue doing that, however mechanical keyboards are pretty loud.

I've looked into reducing the noice output of the keyboard, the idea i have is a mechanical keyboard with black switches and rubber O-Rings.

Would this work, or is it still too loud? (Most of the people in this office use rubber dome keys.)

I've been looking at the SteelSeries 6G v2.

While working I also like to listen to music pretty loud to drown out all the background noise, but I do not want all that sound leaking out into the office space.

So closed headphones with good sound that has a hidden or detachable mic that I can retrieve when I'm going to be taking business calls (Which would be rare).

Any recommendations? 

Thanks!

Winrarslayer

Personally, I'd just go with the keyboard you want and worry about noise later. You can always do the o ring mod at a later date anyway. Choose a keyboard that has a good palm rest. I'd throw out some good suggestions but they use red switches, and I dont fancy them for a lot of typing. Make sure to get one with an adjustable backlight brightness. 

As for headsets, I'd get one that has noise canceling features, that way you dont have to turn the music up so loud, and you could go with a dedicated mic setup, something you could tuck out of the way when you're not using it.

Do you even fanboy bro?

Brown's are pretty silent for a Mech keyboard

I'm a educated fool with money on my mind.