K+M Usage Tips

Daiyus

I've been gaming for almost fifteen years (spring chicken, I know). Five years ago I finally moved away from consoles as my primary system and started using a PC in my living room with a controller, which works incredibly well and I'm happy with the set-up for the most part. 

All that said I'd really like to start getting used to K+M gaming, be it on breaks at work, or to start playing games with different inputs at home. As a PC gamer I really should be able to comfortably use both input options despite my controller preference. 

I downloaded the DOOM demo on both my Xbox One at home (my home PC is undergoing upgrades) and on my work PC through Steam. While I can instantly feel the response in the mouse is much better than an analogue stick for this kind of game I'm finding after only ten minutes of gameplay my keyboard hand is feeling stressed and starting to hurt. Is this normal when you first start using a keyboard and mouse for gaming? Is it because I've got basic Microsoft peripherals hooked up to the office PC?

Has anyone got any tips to make K+M gaming more comfortable for someone used to controllers?

That's interesting; when I first started using a controller, my hand would get sore but it doesn't any more. I think it's a case of using certain muscles more than they are used to for long periods of time, albeit with very little force.  I would suspect the feeling will subside with increased play time and frequency.

Solve your own audio issues  |  First Steps with RPi 3  |  Humidity & Condensation  |  Sleep & Hibernation  |  Overclocking RAM  |  Making Backups  |  Displays  |  4K / 8K / 16K / etc.  |  Do I need 80+ Platinum?

If you can read this you're using the wrong theme.  You can change it at the bottom.