Moving Advice

Judahnator

I plan on moving soon for a job, but need a bit of advice.

I am dirt poor, and this is my first time moving.

What all do I need to know? What do I look out for?

My initial thought was to just get a U-Haul and just go for it (about 1,800 miles, from Moscow Idaho to Milwaukee Wisconsin). Do I need to look out for anything else though?
For example, what are good practices with renting a new place? Buying a new car (or in my case, likely a scooter)?

-- EDIT --

Removed some financial information, as its no longer relevant

Lets start with car advice. I have a 1969 Ford Ranger (3/4-ton model) that needs some serious work before it will move (tires, spark-plugs, fluids, hoses, belts). Do you guys think I could make it go 1,800 miles pulling a U-Haul trailer? If so, that would save me about $600. If not, id have to rent truck as well as a trailer to pull it.

-- EDIT --

Ill just sell the truck and get a moped or something when I get there

Is a credit card an option? Could I call up a company and say "Hi, can I borrow $2,000 and pay you back $3,000 over the next year?"

-- EDIT --

Now that i'm not in panic mode, I did my best to summarize what I needed and cut out useless information

~Judah