Load\Save Listbox VB.NEt

EmptySoul

Hey

I am new to VB.NET, I played around with VB6 almost 10 years ago and am just trying to learn again. I am trying to make a basic program and I need to save a settings file.

Name, Department, Account Number, Reference Number.  I only need one account and reference number but multiple names and departments. 

I was trying to do it with an INI file and was told that an XML file would be easier and give me more room to expand if need be as it has a lot more options. A basic example of the settings file would be;

[Users]

John Smith=Department 1

Jane Smith= Department 2

Alex Smith=Department 1

Oliva Smith=Departmnet 3

[Accounts]

AccountNumber=123456

ReferenceNumber=987654

and it to save it into some sort of file so that the program would be able to read and save the data. I need to be able to add and delete users from the program.

Thanks

1 hour ago, EmptySoul said:

I am new to VB.NET, I played around with VB6 almost 10 years ago and am just trying to learn again.

Whatever would posses you to do that? Why not C#?

1 hour ago, EmptySoul said:

I was trying to do it with an INI file and was told that an XML file would be easier and give me more room to expand if need be as it has a lot more options.

Indeed you should be using XML over INI. Have a look at Serialization and LINQ to XML for more granular control over your serialization.

The single biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place.

If you are not familiar with XML, depending on what requirements you need and how Name, Department, Account Number, and Reference Number connect with each other, your XML will look something similar to this as a direct translation from your INI above:

<Users>
  <User>
    <Name>John Smith</Name>
    <Department>Department 1</Department>
  </User>
  <User>
    <Name>Jane Smith</Name>
    <Department>Department 2</Department>
  </User>
  <User>
    <Name>Alex Smith</Name>
  </User>
  <User>