How powerful does a NAS have to be?

Shaqtin

Hey guys, I am new to the Linus tech tips forum so please forgive me if I make some stupid mistakes while uploading this topic. The reason I came to the forum was to get some opinions regarding a topic that I struggled to find alot about on the almighty Google search. My question is, what is the minimum hardware I need to run a NAS for my home. I had this cool idea that I might be able to turn my grandfathers old PC into a working NAS for me and my family to use. I thought it might be a cool project but upon further inspection I realise that his PC is really not to good (His board doesn't even have any sata port the board uses IDE ports). Anyway I was just wondering if anyone would be able to help me out and tell me just how powerful a NAS computer really NEEDS to be.

PS. I was planning to use freeNAS on the machine

Thanks heaps

Shaqtin

Well an arm cortex can run 100MB/s.

So having an i3 do the job should be overkill.

Hi Shaqtin and welcome to the forums,

(CPU)-Performance wise, a NAS does not really need anything special if you just plan to dump data on it. If you, however, plan to use on-the-fly encoding for video streaming, a more potent CPU will be needed. For simple homeuse i would go with an older and cheap to get dual or quadcore core cpu (Q6600 e.g).

Depending on the amount of data that you plan to store on the NAS up to 4GB of RAM would be my suggestion. Starting at 512MB should work decently.

A dedicated GPU is not needed but you have to consider that you either need onboard graphics OR a small dedicated GPU.

Storage wise i suggest at least two SATA Ports so you can run at least a RAID 1 or 10. RAID 10 is more efficient. Google for "RAID 10 near far" for more info on that topic.

If you need anything more, just ask again here.

Regards

Machines take me by surprise with great frequency

snip

Welcome to LTT :). Remember to follow your thread so you get notified of replies :D