21:9 vs 16:9

filorigo
Go to solution Solved by aliendejoe,

I totally agree with and u got the point.

Now I have another question for you; do you think the Asus PB298Q (€399 the cheapest i colud find in IT) is worth the extra 100€ vs the LG (€299 the cheapest i colud find in IT) i found?

Nah, I think you should be fine with the LG, actually I think those two monitors use the same panel from LG, I may be wrong though. If you find the LG significantly cheaper than the Asus then go for it.

Although the Asus one comes with height adjustment, pivot, VESA support, etc. I'm only going for it because the LG isn't available in my country.

Hi guys,

I'm plannig to have a little upgrade.

I have a 21" full HD monitor now that is a quite bad and old one so i want to get a new one to use as main and keep this one as a secondary.

Mainly I use photo/video-editing programs (I'm not a pro at all), CAD and play some games.

I found the ASUS VX279Q (around 250€) as a possible buy but then surfing I saw this one: LG 29UM65-P (350€).

Is the ultra-wide LG worth the extra money? Considering I'll keep my old 21" anyway, will I have any advantage buying the 21:9 19" over the 16:9 27" one?

Which are the pros and cons of the two?

Does anyone have those two monitors? Do you guys have any other monitor I should look at?

Forgive my english and thanks for the help.

these are Linus's reviews:

ASUS VX279Q (it is basicly the same one but with a better frame, speaker and other thinks)

LG 29UM65-P

I believe the ultrawide is completely worth it. You can also get great deals on the lg25um64 as it's closer to $275 and only a little smaller than the 29" version. But much high pixel density. 

Ryzen 3700x -Evga RTX 2080 Super- Msi x570 Gaming Edge - G.Skill Ripjaws 3600Mhz RAM - EVGA SuperNova G3 750W -500gb 970 Evo - 250Gb Samsung 850 Evo - 250Gb Samsung 840 Evo  - 4Tb WD Blue- NZXT h500 - ROG Swift PG348Q

Hi guys,

I'm plannig to have a little upgrade.