PC Noob vs Capable PC - What to look for/What to get?

A7XDrumCovers

I am a PC noob, quite literally I am not very good at knowing what is the best hardware and what is the best software for a PC. I know how to use a lot of software such as AutoCAD, 3DS Max, Photoshop, Illustrator, and I am learning about Sony Vegas Pro. I also know a bit of coding, using HTML, PHP and MySQL. The thing is, I am looking to move to a good-better PC for 2 things: Gaming, and Recording/Editing Video. Both of these are not very possible with my current PC, which is extremely outdated, still sitting at 2GB RAM, and Windows Vista for crying out loud! Haha. So, I am finally ready to spend about 1200-1500 bucks on a PC, that I can build myself (which I have done once before in a Computer Science class), with the help of Linus' video.

I was originally going to buy the hardware Linus recommended in his $1500 budget video, but I thought it would be best to go to the forums directly and ask if there is better items for my particular needs. I do not need a new keyboard or headset, I have a keyboard I am happy with at the moment and I have a headset from Afterglow with pretty good sound, even though the microphone was stated by others to be "Way too loud considering there is no setting to turn the voice volume down". Kind of a shame, but I dont know many people playing PC anyways.