Disappointed in WH-1000XM5s, need suggestions.

ShadowChaser

I got WH-1000XM5s for myself as a Christmas present and I have to say that I'm extremely disappointed in them - to the point where just handling them for a few minutes made me no longer want to use them at all. Period.

Context:

The wireless headphones I've been using for the last few years have been the Plantronics BackBeat Pros. I have been using them since March of 2018, and they are pretty worn out. Both earpads have been replaced once already and they were starting to die a few months back, so I decided that they've served me long enough and I deserve an upgrade.

My needs were simple:

• similar sound profile (slight emphasis on bass with neutral mids and highs)
  • comfortable fit (the BBT Pros are heavy but they are very comfortable to wear)
  • ANC (doesn't have to be very strong, but does have to be natural)
  • tanky (BBT pros are built like tanks - I've never bothered with the carrying case and it's still in great shape apart from the peeling leather

I was pretty much set on a pair of Sonys since it seems to be the general consensus that they had the best ANC in town. I've used QC25s in the past and didn't like how much pressure and underwater feeling I was getting so I had high hopes for Sony's ANC. I waffled between the XM4 and XM5 before settling on the XM5 reasoning that I didn't need the extra folding capabilities of the XM4 and it had the faster quick charging curve for when I inevitably forget to charge these before a trip.

I received the XM5s today.

I had written an extra1k+ word rant on them, but I think I can drop that and condense my main gripes into two points.

1. Terrible feeling plastics despite excellent build quality
  2. Inconsistent controls that can't be changed.

I have third complaint, but that's because I have a very minor case of tinnitus - I will address this third point later since it really only applies to me and is not a fault of the headphones.