Replacement PSU question from a beginner.

boomshiva

Someone gave me a Dell Inspiron 5675 whose PSU is missing. After googling I've determined that it came stock with a 460W PSU (model Dell D460AM-03). 

From what I've read, Dell uses custom PSU's. My question is: can I replace the PSU with another 460W PSU from MicroCenter? What specifics must I know about the original PSU that will help me pick out the right Corsair/EVGA/Seasonic/CoolerMaster? Things like modular/semi/fixed/3.3V+5V combined power, etc.? 

Also, if I went with a bigger PSU, say a 750W one. If I install it, will I just end up frying the motherboard and components because it's much more powerful than the stock PSU? Or does the bigger PSU 'self-regulate' the power?

Again, I'm very new at this and the 5675 is a project to learn on. Any and all advice is appreciated.

TIA.

16 minutes ago, boomshiva said:

From what I've read, Dell uses custom PSU's. My question is: can I replace the PSU with another 460W PSU from MicroCenter?

Not unless you make custom cable adapters. Dell's power supplies don't use standard power connectors. If you try to connect a regular PSU you will explode something.

17 minutes ago, boomshiva said:

Also, if I went with a bigger PSU, say a 750W one. If I install it, will I just end up frying the motherboard and components because it's much more powerful than the stock PSU? Or does the bigger PSU 'self-regulate' the power?

Power isn't a "push". It's a "pull". If I took a Celeron and only used its iGPU and hooked it up to an EVGA T2 1600W nothing would explode due to too much power, it doesn't work that way.

If you connect power to where it doesn't need to be, then yes, things can explode. But with standard components and non-dangerous/explosive power supplies nothing should go wrong.

elephants