My first PC build. Main purpose: office work+music production; secondary: video edit+gaming (eventually).

Hello, my name is Juan. This is my first build and I’m very excited about the whole process and I really don’t want to screw anything up. I’ll try to follow the forum’s posting recommendations giving you guys some context and then stating my questions, if its alright with you. Please excuse my English.

CONTEXT:
1. Budget & Location

2000 USD. Bogotá, Colombia, but I don’t think it really matters for this post. I would most likely purchase the parts online and have them sent to me from the US.

2. Aim

I’m an economist and a musician. I want to use the system mainly for somewhat different purposes between those lines, i.e.: some web browsing, office work, statistics, and data analysis software, maybe automate some web scraping and data collection processes; and intermediate-level home music recording and production.

As an added value, I’d like to be able to edit video and ->eventually<- introduce myself into gaming, but this last one is kind of optional in the near future if it gets in the way of the main purposes I mentioned above, to be honest.

3. Monitors

At this moment, I’m not planning to spend a whole lot of money on monitors since the main purpose of the system is not going to be producing a lot of graphic content, at least not at first. Nevertheless, I do plan to use the two monitors I currently use with my laptops:

- Sony KDL-40EX407 40” 1080p LCD TV with HDMI connections as primary screen and
- Samsung SyncMaster 920N 19” LCD monitor / TFT active matrix, with 1280 x 1024 at 75 Hz
native resolution and 1 x VGA connection which I use as secondary screen (and I’m very fond of because I’ve had it for a long time, and its been reliable AF).

4. Peripherals

I do have relatively new Bluetooth keyboard and mouse and I’m pretty much satisfied with their performance so far, so I’m not planning any upgrades in this area.