RAM compatibility question

popej

Hello,

I have an ageing Intel i5 6600k and a Z170 Pro Gaming mobo and I'm looking at 4x sticks of this RAM: 

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B07RM39V5F/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Corsair VENGEANCELPX16GB (2x 8GB) DDR4 3600 (Pc4-28800) C181.35V Desktop Memory - Black

I've used Corsairs own compatibility tool and it indicated that this is compatible with my mobo, albeit the motherboard supports a maximum memory frequency of 3466mhz.

However I’m uncertain whether the RAM will work with the i5 6600k at all?

If it does work I’m presuming it will downclock the RAM speed by default and I’ll need an XMP profile to get the speed up?

Can anyone provide some advice on these two points as I’m no expert?

edit: I appreciate people will have a view as to whether 32gb is worth it, and I appreciate the viewpoint but I’d be grateful for answers to the questions above.

Thanks

it will work, the imc is decent on the 6600k, though iirc anything over 2133 is an overclock to the imc technically and is not guaranteed, but the imc should handle it just fine.

though if you're going for a kit, get a 3200 cl16 kit or a 3600cl16 kit. 

PC: Motherboard: ASUS B550M TUF-Plus, CPU: Ryzen 3 3100, CPU Cooler: Arctic Freezer 34, GPU: GIGABYTE WindForce GTX1650S, RAM: HyperX Fury RGB 2x8GB 3200 CL16, Case, CoolerMaster MB311L ARGB, Boot Drive: 250GB MX500, Game Drive: WD Blue 1TB 7200RPM HDD.

Peripherals: GK61 (Optical Gateron Red) with Mistel White/Orange keycaps, Logitech G102 (Purple), BitWit Ensemble Grey Deskpad. 

Audio: Logitech G432, Moondrop Starfield, Mic: Razer Siren Mini (White).

Phone: Pixel 3a (Purple-ish).

Build Log: 

Thanks for the immediate response.

Apologies but what is a CL16 kit? I’m guessing the Corsair RAM I linked isn’t CL16?

Many thanks

10 hours ago, popej said:

Apologies but what is a CL16 kit?