Small Business Server Build

Hey all,

I work for a small dental office that is in desperate need of a new server to run our practice software. I’ve never built a server before but have built several desktops, and was hoping for some advice on the project. Here are a few details, thanks in advance for any help!

We have a budget of $5,000 USD including licensing.

We need to use windows server to run our software, and have 8 computers that will be connecting at a time.

We only need a terabyte of storage, max, unless we want redundant drives.

Speed is the name of the game for this upgrade; currently, we have to make our patients wait because our server is so slow. However, we also need the reliability and consistency of real server hardware, as we’ll be storing patient data. We have a big budget because we want speed for years and years to come. 

We need a tower, preferably midATX just for space. 

My question, then is this: if I work through newegg and assemble server grade components that are ATX compatible into a standard tower, are there any caveats i need to be on the lookout for? my boss wouldn’t be happy if i spent thousands on parts for something to not work on a small technicality. I check for socket compatibility and form factor, but other than that my awareness is limited. 

Just now, bergrenalex said:

-snip-

So break down your budget, after licensing so you can determine how much you have for hardware. Additionally, are there any HIPAA requirements you have to meet?

I would recommend an SSD setup with RAID6 to provide fault tolerance (NOT BACKUP!) as a basic guideline. However, it might be better to get a pre-built solution from CDW or DELL or HPE to help you.

In essence a server is just a computer, there's no real need to build using server grade components unless you actually need the features they bring (AVX512, ECC RAM etc).