Linux Mint Drive Issue

Go to solution Solved by LaughingHyena,
18 minutes ago, Sauron said:

I figured it out. The sata ports on the external drive bays on my case don't actually connect to the drive.

Okay, so I just installed Linux Mint on a new computer I just built, and I took a drive out of my Windows PC after removing all formatting, and for whatever reason, it is not showing up in the Mint Disks utility. I am completely new to Linux, so I have no idea where to start, and everything I can find online seems to be for people taking HDDs formatted in Linux over to Windows, not the other way around. Anyone have any ideas what I can do to try and get this drive to work?

Gaming PC

CPU: Ryzen 3700X GPU: EVGA 2060 Super XC Ultra Gaming MB: MSI Prestige X570 Creation 

RAM: G.Skill Trident Z Neo 2x 16GB DDR4-3600 CL16 NVME: Samsung 970 Evo 250GB M.2-2280

PSU: SeaSonic PRIME Gold 1000w Case: Corsair 680X RGB Black

NAS/Media Box

CPU: Ryzen 3200G  MB: Gigabyte Aorus B450 Elite

RAM: 16GB (2x 8GB) Corsair LPX DDR4-3000 M.2: WD Blue 500 GB

PSU: Rosewill Photon 850W 80+ Gold Case: Cooler Master HAF XB Evo

Does it show up in the bios? Try apt install Gparted and check if it shows up there, also remember that it has got to be in a file system that is recognized by Linux, such as ext4, not NTFS.;) 

10 minutes ago, LaughingHyena said:

Okay, so I just installed Linux Mint on a new computer I just built, and I took a drive out of my Windows PC after removing all formatting, and for whatever reason, it is not showing up in the Mint Disks utility. I am completely new to Linux, so I have no idea where to start, and everything I can find online seems to be for people taking HDDs formatted in Linux over to Windows, not the other way around. Anyone have any ideas what I can do to try and get this drive to work?

You could try mounting the iso on the drive, then it'd finish installing after booting from it. Make sure to use a file system recognized by Linux (not NTFS)