Upgrade

When I was playing last night, the computer suddenly died. When I tried to turn it back on, it tells me that there's a hardware failure and I get a black screen after the window logo. I don't know what's wrong, but I think it's about time I upgrade my computer.

My current build is:

CPU: Intel(R) Core i5-2500K

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H

Memory: 8 GB (4GB x2) DDR3/1600MHz

Storage: Intel 545s 256GB SSD + 1TB HDD

Video Card: HIS - Radeon HD 7950 3GB

Case: Azza - Hurrican 2000R

Power Supply: Corsair CMPSU-850TXV2 80 Plus

Are there any parts that I should keep?

I generally like to run multiple applications at once, so I'm planning on getting 16GB ram and the Ryzen 2600x or the new 3600 when it comes out. I mostly do casual gaming like Starcraft 2, so I think mid-tier video card should be enough since I don't play any fps or super high quality games. Other than that, I'm clueless on how to choose the other parts. I've never built or assembled a computer before. My budget is about $1300 CAD.

I tried inserting the Windows disc to start the installation/reformat, but it never loaded that screen.

To describe the death part, I was playing a game, and then, the screen turned something like a tiled texture and just froze there for a long time. I turned off the power and when I turned it back on, it would say hardware failure.

Also, when I enter the BIOS, there are 2 thick vertical blue lines going up and down the screen. When I removed that harddrives and rebooted, there would be some ??????? scrambled text along with the expected "no boot device found".

Maybe the gpu died? Pop it out and give your integrated gpu a try.

You might have also messed up your boot order so check that you're booting from the correct device in bios.

In my opinion get 16 GB RAM at at least 3000MHz speed (the 3600 mobos support DDR4) and the new ryzen 3600 when it comes out.