BEST RAID ENCLOSURE FOR HOME WORKSTATION

Q_ball

Hi everyone!

I'm an editor, for half of my gigs I'm working from home, and I really don't want to have a ton of desktop drives for backing up footage. So, obviously I thought a raid enclosure in a raid 5 with 18-24tb would be perfect! But I'm not paying g-tech $5k, like most of my older colleagues do (like what?),  and the reviews for most enclosures on new egg are not the best. So what should I get? I'm looking to get 7200rpm 6tb drives so I can edit from the box when I need to, so the enclosure can't be a bottle neck. 

Thanks in advance!

You could get a Qnap enclosure (Not sure how many drive bays you need). I would recommend RAID6 though. Also 8TB drives tend to be the better storage per dollar that I've seen usually.

Otherwise you can repurpose an old PC to be a FreeNAS box.

At that capacity I would strongly recommend RAID 6, and you would be looking at NAS, minimum of 4 drives if you get large ones like 12tb.

20 minutes ago, Q_ball said:

Hi everyone!

I'm an editor, for half of my gigs I'm working from home, and I really don't want to have a ton of desktop drives for backing up footage. So, obviously I thought a raid enclosure in a raid 5 with 18-24tb would be perfect! But I'm not paying g-tech $5k, like most of my older colleagues do (like what?),  and the reviews for most enclosures on new egg are not the best. So what should I get? I'm looking to get 7200rpm 6tb drives so I can edit from the box when I need to, so the enclosure can't be a bottle neck. 

Thanks in advance!