Ubuntu Server 18.10

Hey All,

First time posting here and pretty new in the tech community in general. I have basic knowledge and I'm schooling for IT Security, but haven't gotten past gen ed yet. Aside from this, I recently picked up a server for my home: a Dell R710 72gb Mem/2x X5690/6x 500gb 10k SAS drives in RAID 5. I installed Ubuntu Server 18.10 on it (didn't want to pay for a windows server license) and everything has been decently smooth, except for the networking side. So with the 4 ethernet ports, I just bonded them all under balanced-rr which maybe was not a good idea but I don't have much knowledge over bonding and didn't bother to look any info up on it. The issue comes from the bond seeming to not lease an IP automatically from the router, as everday (sometimes multiple times a day) I have to run the following command "sudo dhclient -v -4" which gets things going. Has anyone had an experience like this? Anyone have recommendations over the configuration? This is being used as a samba server/dedicated game server for a very small amount of people.

Thank you!

Ok, so ive attempted to so via netplan,  however this causes some sort of conflict as I can log in to my router and see the server at a different IP than the one set and the server cannot ping. 

ubuntu server is VERY basic with network configuration, basicly it does one attempt at DHCP on startup, and from there on out doesnt really bother.

as said before, the idea is you give it a static IP.

My lazy solution not bothering to read anything:

if you got something you need to run every x period of time, just make a cron job for it :D

Main Rig: R9 5950X @ PBO, RTX 3090, 64 GB DDR4 3666, InWin 101, Full Hardline Watercooling

Server: R7 1700X @ 4.0 GHz, GTX 1080 Ti, 32GB DDR4 3000, Cooler Master NR200P, Full Soft Watercooling

LAN Rig: R5 3600X @ PBO, RTX 2070, 32 GB DDR4 3200, Dan Case A4-SFV V4, 120mm AIO for the CPU