Need help with upgrading build

Ruttlik

Hello everyone,

I am looking forward to upgrading my build as tomorrow the black friday sales are kicking in. My plan at the moment is to upgrade my GPU to a MSI RTX 2070 Armor (which should fit into my computer case). Besides that there is something wrong with the sound card of my motherboard so I think it's time for an upgrade anyway. I have zero knowledge about motherboards so I'm here to ask for help which one I should upgrade to so it's compatible with the other parts of the grid and still fits in the case. I would also like to ask if my CPU will be able to handle all this new fast running gear and not overheat or anything like that. Last but not least, will my current power supply be able to handle all of this?

Specs:

Operating system: Windows 10 Home 64-bit

Memory: Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3 8GB (2x4GB) 2400MHz

SSD: Crucial 240 GB SSD

CPU: Intel Core i7 4790K @ 4.00GHz

Storage: Western Digital 1 TB HDD

Graphic Card: MSI NVIDIA GTX 970 GAMING 4G

Motherboard: MSI Z97 GAMING 3

Power supply: Corsair VS650

Case: Corsair Spec 01 Red

The armor card is super crap. That cooler design is no good. 

As for motherboard, try to find a Z97 or Z87 off eBay, or buy mine. (shameless plug)

I WILL find your ITX build thread, and I WILL recommend the SIlverstone Sugo SG13B

Primary PC:

i7 8086k - EVGA Z370 Classified K - G.Skill Trident Z RGB - WD SN750 - Jedi Order Titan Xp - Hyper 212 Black (with RGB Riing flair) - EVGA G3 650W - dual booting Windows 10 and Linux - Black and green theme, Razer brainwashed me.

Draws 400 watts under max load, for reference.

How many watts do I needATX 3.0 & PCIe 5.0 spec, PSU misconceptions, protections explainedgroup reg is bad

2 minutes ago, fasauceome said:

The armor card is super crap. That cooler design is no good. 

As for motherboard, try to find a Z97 or Z87 off eBay, or buy mine. (shameless plug)