New GPU breaks old gpu

Jared lee

Alright so I'm new to upgrading my PC and everything and so I'm probably going to need quite a bit of help.  Here's the story.  I was looking to upgrade the graphics card in my PC from a gtx 570 to a RX 580.  I unplugged everything and took out my old GPU and plugged in the new one.  After realizing I didn't have the right word I took out the new GPU and I was going to put my old GPU back in but when I powered my PC up I got no display however the fans on the old GPU still spin.  I bought an adapter for the new GPU so that I could plug it into my power supply.  I have since bought a new power supply EVGA 500w and I'm still having the same problem please help!

You need to uninstall the old Nvidia drivers and install new AMD drivers.

Make sure you're connecting the display cable and PCIe power cables to the GPU. (And if it's a modular or semi-modular power supply, make sure the power cables are plugged in there as well.)

Specs: CPU - Intel i7 8700K @ 5GHz | GPU - Gigabyte GTX 970 G1 Gaming | Motherboard - ASUS Strix Z370-G WIFI AC | RAM - XPG Gammix DDR4-3000MHz 32GB (2x16GB) | Main Drive - Samsung 850 Evo 500GB M.2 | Other Drives - 7TB/3 Drives | CPU Cooler - Corsair H100i Pro | Case - Fractal Design Define C Mini TG | Power Supply - EVGA G3 850W

-Moved to Troubleshooting-

Does your system POST? What model PSU do you have? I've seen units spontaneously die and fail to power on systems beyond fans and lights.

Quote or tag me( @Crunchy Dragon) if you want me to see your reply

If a post solved your problem/answered your question, please consider marking it as "solved"

Community Standards // Join Floatplane!

I have everything plugged in but I cant boot to the bios.  I can't plug the monitor into the motherboard and I don't get any display from the gpu

42 minutes ago, Crunchy Dragon said:

-Moved to Troubleshooting-