pci-e passthrough affecting fps

so i finally got pci-e passthrough to work, but there's a problem. 

i'm using an RX460, and on low settings on Overwatch at 1080p it sometimes dips into the 30's when a lot is happening on screen. 

the VM has 6 core's and 12 threads allocated to it, so i don't think that's the problem. 

the gpu is connected through one of those pci-e X1 to X16 adaptor, i don't know if that has something to do with it. 

She/Her

9 minutes ago, firelighter487 said:

pci-e X1 to X16 adaptor

I'm not an expert, but it probably has to do with the adaptor. Correct me if I'm wrong, but aren't those things often used in Ethereum mining? There the data transfer is small so you don't need 16x.

21 minutes ago, MatteoX10 said:

I'm not an expert, but it probably has to do with the adaptor. Correct me if I'm wrong, but aren't those things often used in Ethereum mining? There the data transfer is small so you don't need 16x.

yeah they are mining adaptors. so this is just unfixable unless i get a new mobo with 2 X16 slots?

She/Her

10 minutes ago, firelighter487 said:

yeah they are mining adaptors. so this is just unfixable unless i get a new mobo with 2 X16 slots?

Probably because you need the full bandwidth.

1 minute ago, wojtepanik said:

yeah it sounds like bandwidth issues, what did you expect ?

i expected it to work because i tired gaming with this adaptor and this card before, but that was native on Windows. 

3 minutes ago, wojtepanik said:

lul

how to sound stupid 101

10 minutes ago, MatteoX10 said:

Probably because you need the full bandwidth.

yeah i was afraid of that... well it doesn't seem to be as bad in capture the flag for some reason... only quick play.. 

is there any way i can verify that it is a bandwidth bottleneck? because motherboards that support dual Xeon's and have 2 or more X16 slots are rare and quite expensive.... i don't want to waste money. 

She/Her

5 minutes ago, firelighter487 said: