CPU OR GPU Upgrade?

So this forum may not be in the right place, or it may already have a answer somewhere. And if that's the case I didn't see and I'm sorry.

So I'm a new PC builder and I plan on upgrading my build soon, and I didn't know what I should upgrade first.  I was thinking more on the CPU side because it's only a dual core, but since it's a skylake series I wasn't too worried about it. So I thought maybe I could upgrade my GPU to something else, then bottlenecking came to mind, so I decided to come here for some help. I'll list my build below, also I thought about ether upgrade to a i5 Skylake or upgrading my GPU to a 1060 or 1070 depending or deals or pricing.

Heres my build:

i3-6100

R9 380 4GB

8GB DDR4 Ram

1TB HDD

550 PSU

Depends what you use your comp for, fam.

A new GPU is good for some applications and games.

A new CPU is good for some applications and games.

CPU first for me.

Why did you get i3 in the first place??!

40 minutes ago, SammytheSlugg said:

Upgrade your CPU then later on upgrade your GPU

Personally, that's what I would do - upgrade the cpu first.  

I was forced, due to HD failure in my i7 system, to use my backup computer with an old AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ dual core cpu to play my favorite game with my GPU from my i7 system, thinking it would work just fine because it was the same video card.  No. No, it did not work just fine - the cpu became a bottleneck, making the game almost unplayable even on lowest settings.  Now, having said that, I'm sure an Intel i3 Skylake processor is a much better dual core than that old 2005 model AMD Athlon 64 X2.  But because of my experience, I just have to go with upgrading the cpu first. 

8 hours ago, Mustangace said:

Personally, that's what I would do - upgrade the cpu first.