College laptop advice

Brief background....

I am currently in college, where i am studying engineering. After working for the summer, i have decided to purchase a laptop for the up coming year. i do have a bias towards apple as i have an iPhone and have always been more then happy with there products and service after purchase. 

Perceived options....

so far i am looking at he following: 

• 2015 MacBook Retina (Baseline Model) 
  • 2015 MacBook Pro 13'' (Baseline Model) 
  • Dell XPS 13 (8gb ram with non touch, 1080p screen) 

What I need it for....

• MS Word processing (Word, Excel, PowerPoint) 
  • Potentially some CAD (Solidworks, AutoCAD)
  • General web browsing (Youtube, Gmail, Websites)  

Current thoughts.....

As of today, i am leading towards the MacBook. I am well aware of the common knocks against the product. I have used the keyboard and im perfectly happy with it. the usb type c is also a non issue as i have not used a usb for a long time as i keep everything in the cloud. the main concern for me the is the processing power and weather it could run as id need it. i am a huge fan of the design, its size and the space grey color option. I have also heard from multiply sources that macs age well compared to windows alternatives. 

Anyway any comments and advice is welcome. 

If you need an ultrabook with dedicated GPU then Asus uX303LN/LB.

i5 4670k @ 4.2GHz (Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo); ASrock Z87 EXTREME4; 8GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3 RAM @ 2133MHz; Asus DirectCU GTX 560; Super Flower Golden King 550 Platinum PSU;1TB Seagate Barracuda;Corsair 200r case. 

Just grab a macbook, they generally last longer than and have a much higher resale value. Not to mention Apple's support is great, other brands have cancerous RMA processes.