Das Keyboard

Mark Snow

So, I got the clicky professional version (with the labels). The reason being that prior to watching Linus and moreover Slick since he seems to drool over good keyboards I truthfully had no idea that a really good keyboard could make a big difference. I've found that this thing makes me type like a beast, just because the way that I type is very feedback based, and so I know about 90% of the time if I've made a mistake due to the fact that I usually miss a key or something. I'm a programmer and as a result of that I'm generally not required to type a huge quantity of characters or be particularly good at it (there really aren't THAT many characters in a typical file in a program, its more thought than code). Since I don't game (I'm very much one of those "Professional" people, my system is for work but I like it ;)) I never cared that much about the keyboard.

While in particular watching the live streams I saw the Ducky keyboard and thought "how cool" then did some other research into it and decided that I didn't want a ducky keyboard (I couldn't find one that had the number pad, since I use that all the time, required to) and I don't care about it having a million and one lights on it, and doing research into the company that makes the Das Keyboard and all the colored switches and what have you that that's what I would get (Cherry MX Blue switches). I could not be happier. I think that Linus should do more videos on the real difference between mechanical and membrane keyboards because it could (and does) make a HUGE difference, and I can guarantee most people don't know about it (the people that I work with, the people that write the software that you use, had no idea).