I need help with new my rig! (PSU choice)

Mdroid
Go to solution Solved by Daveeede,

I think that the 850 watt range would be sufficient with the efficiency of maxwell but if you want the extra headroom then a 1000 watt would be way more than enough. EVGA's lineup offers excellent quality at very reasonable pricing so that would be my suggestion. 

Hello LTT Forums and community!  :)

I need a litle help with my new rig. Actually it's my first build in years (more than 8 actually).  :unsure:

I haven't decided all the components yet, only the main ones. But I don't know which PSU to buy!

I was thinking to buy an Corsair (it's easier to find in my country) but I can't figure out if i get the AX860i or the HX850i. Or if I'm totally wrong about the wattage.

Here the part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/VjGmpg

NOTE 1: I'm going to overclock de cpu to 4Ghz+. Not sure about the 980's

NOTE 2: I already bought the motherboard (I got for a good price in a sale, so I can't change it) , but I accept suggestions for other components.

NOTE 3: I'm going to connect some peripherals (my corsair k95 rgb and razer mamba), I don't know how much it influences in the psu , but better comment.

This rig will substitute my 5 year laptop, the main use is for heavy gaming and professional work.

Also, I apologize in advance for any English mistakes. It's not my native language.

Thank you!

For starters for overclocking I always add at least 250 W to the standard tdp you get calculated on there so at least a 900W psu but also make sure you have enough for future upgrades so from there add 100 W more 

So a 1000W psu should be fine for you

Let me check around and see what are some good ones 

Hi Agent 181,

thanks for the answer!

Wow! 1000W? I was thinking that a 850W would suffice for my needs.

The 1000W range psu that I have near me are:

EVGA SuperNova 1000 G2 80 Plus Gold

EVGA SuperNova 1000 P2 80 Plus Platinum

Corsair HX1000i 1000W 80 Plus Platinum