Java Project Ideas

Cs342

Hey guys,

For my computer science class at school, we each have to plan, design and create a Java program over the course of a few months. The type of program is free to be picked by the student. Some other students' projects include a calendar, a homework diary etc. Since this is my first year learning Java, I need an idea that isn't too hard but not too simple either. Any suggestions?

Have you tried turning it off and on again?

I would recommend something like an IRC client or a Remote Desktop application. In my first year I made an irc client, I'd highly recommend using JavaFX to create your UI. If neither of these options interest you make a game such as a simple 2d Pokemon remake. You coul also look into something that uses pathfinding algorithms such as A*.

Best of luck :)

Edit: if you choose to make a game you can se my game maker API for simple 2D games: https://github.com/fletchto99/GameMaker

Here is a game skeleton: https://gist.github.com/anonymous/4311674

Here is a sample game of pong (unfinished): https://gist.github.com/fletchto99/4311702

There are 10 types of people in this world, those who can read binary and those who can't.

There are 10 types of people in this world, those who can read hexadecimal and F the rest.

~Fletch

I would recommend something like an IRC client or a Remote Desktop application. In my first year I made an irc client, I'd highly recommend using JavaFX to create your UI. If neither of these options interest you make a game such as a simple 2d Pokemon remake. You coul also look into something that uses pathfinding algorithms such as A*.

Best of luck :)

Edit: if you choose to make a game you can se my game maker API for simple 2D games: https://github.com/fletchto99/GameMaker

Here is a game skeleton: https://gist.github.com/anonymous/4311674

Here is a sample game of pong (unfinished): https://gist.github.com/fletchto99/4311702